top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

38th birthday with cancer and Covid-19

Updated: Apr 11, 2020

Everything looks different this year, even my birthday. Last year, I had a whole weekend of multiple outings with my mama. We went bowling, lunch at Panera, manicures/pedicures, AR workshop, shopping, took the kids to Dave and Buster, and me and the girls did more shopping at South Park, then dinner at Sonnys. 37 was one to remember



I do not think i’ll forget this one either, but it was so much more low key. I didn’t get dressed up, no makeup, not curled hair. I worked all day from home, then Jack made spaghetti dinner. My kids went and picked up and Nothing Bundt cake my mom ordered for me. We are social distancing from everyone, even my mama. It definitely makes for a very hard time to celebrate when you can’t see the ones you want to spend your day with, ya know? we FaceTimed mom so she could watch me open my presents and sing me happy birthday. I hung up with her just in time to cry like a baby. Listen, it’s my party and I can cry if I want to.


Jack asked me to a dance the night before my birthday. We danced to that new Blake Shelton and Gwen duo song. It was so sweet. I knew was was looming a few days from then, so I know he was trying to get me out of my own head and it worked. He also go me that new pair of sunglasses I really wanted. AJ and the kids got me a new jewelry box, that I absolutely love! It will fit all my things In one place! I love statement earrings and necklaces! Shoot, even bracelets! My mom got me a giant TV for my room. If you know me, I don’t watch much TV, typically. But, on the down days, there isn’t much to do in bed besides Netflix/Hulu/Disney Plus/Prime and chill. She also got me an embroidered robe, I had been eyeing! Again, great for those down days. Mama also surprised me with a Noonday bracelet. My first piece! I swear sometimes, my mama and I think way too much alike. Just the other day, I told Kaiah I wanted to put together a puzzle. We looked at Target (because drive up) for one and we found the cutest puzzle. Low and behold, my mom got it for me for my birthday. What a coincidence! Anyway, Kaiah and I put it together in about 2 hours! It was a good day.



We made the most of our time and the day, and I love my little family so much. I received so many calls, texts, and 100’s of Facebook notes. It was so nice to feel the love!


111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page