top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Another day of more tests

Monday, March 9, 2020

When you are diagnosed with a breast cancer at my age of 37 and it's Triple Negative, genetic testing is typically recommended. I do not have a family history of breast cancer, but patient zero has to occur at some point. The Genetic Counselor gathered my family history and collected as much medical data to make the best decision on what exactly to test for. The most obvious choice was hereditary cancers test, but there is also a few other options out there too. The hereditary cancers testing kit screens for 84 different types of genes known to be dominant in those developing certain types of cancers. Two of those most popular breast cancer genes are BRCA 1 and BRCA 2. It takes about 3 weeks to get those results, so you will have to check back to see if I am a carrier.


These results are very important for my future health and my children. Knowing you are at risk for certain cancers will help for early screening and early detection. Also, these results will dictate what type of surgeries I will require after chemotherapy has been completed. For example, if I am positive for the BRCA 1 or 2 a complete hysterectomy and bilateral mastectomy would be needed, because research shows that I would be 25% more likely to get ovarian and 25% more likely of breast cancer recurrence.


While I waited for my next appointment, I decided to go visit the Pink House. Carolina Breast Friends is a non-profit organization which is an amazing resource for survivors like me. They offer programs, resources, mentor support and most importantly a sanctuary to just get away from it all. I met Leslie, RN who helps run the house. She greeted me open arms and a bag full of goodies. She showed me around and had me fill out some information. She is pairing me with a mentor to help support me during this quest. This mentor will be a women similar in age, diagnosis, and lifestyle (like children near the same ages). The mentor has already slayed those mutant cells, so she will personally understand the very place I stand. Next week, I will revisit the Pink House and complete a wig fitting. Just wait on those photos - I am sure it will be fun.


Before long, it was time to head to the next test. I've had a few ultrasounds in my day, so I wasn't nervous. I had the friendliest cardiovascular tech, he placed a gown on the bed and gave me the directions. So there I was laying topless on the bed, again. He explained that an echocardiogram is needed to get a GSL baseline before chemotherapy, then in a few months they will perform another echo to ensure my heart is tolerating the drugs well. If the GSL numbers fall below the baseline, it would require a change in medication (whether it be dose/schedule/drug that is up to the doc). These results will be made available on Wednesday when I actually meet the Cardiologist.




89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page