top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Cardiologist update

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Today was an important step in the process to start chemotherapy. I had to get clearance from the Cardiologist. The echocardiogram I had on Monday, showed a great GSL baseline and the EKG from today also was fine. The type of chemo I will be getting is very hard on the cardiovascular system, so I will have to have these type of tests completed about every 6 weeks. We need to make sure the medicine trying to kill the cancer doesn't kill my heart. The doctor said "you are a healthy 37 year old" - in Rifka fashion I said, "except for the cancer part" and had a big smile on my face. Now the doctor had a mask on so I couldn't tell his actual expression, but his rebuttal was basically that I had good odds to beat it,

I try to lighten the air with some comedy every now and then. I feel like that's the only way I can really get through this. My husband Jack is usually the one with all the jokes, but I've been trying to throw a few out there when I can.


If you know of any good jokes send them my way. I'd love to read them, especially when I need a pick me up!


Here is one of Jack's dad jokes:


What's Darth Vaders favorite dessert at an Italian resturant?


Only one canoli





92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page