top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Chemo # 10

This round was pretty smooth. Wednesday, the day before chemo, I typically like to eat pretty big then fast until my infusion time. That's a trick one of my cancer babes taught me and it seems to ward off any nausea. A fellow survivor local to the Charlotte area, offered to bring us dinner. A lady I have never met, but felt led to do something amazing for us. Dawn is a 2x cancer survivor herself, so she knows just how helpful a meal can be. She must have been reading Kaiah's mind, because she showed up with Hibachi take out. Seriously delicious and definitely hit the spot.


My infusion time was later in the afternoon, so I was able to get some work done in the morning. My dad dropped off dinner made by Aunt Ginger Then Kirklyn was picked up for a play date with her good friend Anderson. Anderson has a pretty cool mom too! Kirklyn was able to spend some time being a kid and not spending time thinking about her mom getting chemo. Anderson brought me the most fragrant flowers from his yard! Who said chivalry is dead? My sissy, Fawn, wanted to come by after chemo, so she brought me some delicious BBQ, and I am not complaining!



Saturday, I was able to complete my very first virtual 5K (4.9K) for my Alma Mater, UNCC. Jack and I started walking when the sun had set and it wasn’t too humid. I vowed to walk as long as I could or until I hit my goal. Can you believe it! 2 days past chemotherapy and I did it! It took me nearly 1.5 hours, but I walked and walked and walked! I am proud to have been able to represent the 49er Alumni association and help out the Covid-19 student relief fund with participating in the race. The Alumni Association is doing a spotlight on my story and I will share it here when it comes out!





On Sunday we set out to Hilton Head Island for a few days. A very sweet friend from high school, offered an incredible vacation home for a quick getaway. Can I just tell you; this is just what the doctor ordered! It was beyond generous of her. She founded Beach House Boutique Vacation Rentals and Realty. She owns several homes and manages the rentals of many others. Check out these properties! She has decorated them so beautifully and they come very much equipped! Here is the link to her site, and here is the link to the home we stayed in. It had an elevator, to boot!


Since I work from home, I was able to bring my laptop and work from one of the amazing patios or by the private pool while the kids played. There was an awesome game room too, so there was plenty to do while #socialdistancing. We brought lots of groceries and cooked in the entertainer’s dream kitchen. We did make it to the beach one evening to enjoy the breeze, minus the heat (and crowd), and that was fun watching the littles play in the cold water! The house was very conveniently located, near lots of activities/attractions, shopping, plus you don’t have to pay the toll to access it.

My brother, Nate, was able to drive down from Wilmington and stay with us, as well. It was nice getting to spend some time with him. There are 17 years between us, and now that he is 21 and a senior in college, he is a grown man with his own life full of activities. I miss our time. Babies don’t keep y’all. Kirklyn and Jack-Jack love their Uncle NayNay, but who doesn’t honestly. He is such an old soul. Super cool guy. And good looking. And single ladies...….



We had to head back Wednesday for Chemo on Thursday. It was a wonderful vacation and much needed. We are so thankful for Jennifer Beale Miotto and Beach House Boutique for this extremely generous vacation stay!

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page