top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Chemo #14 and Carbo combo #4

The last carboplatin combo is today! I am so happy to have this one getting checked off the list! I know that Monday and Tuesday will be rough days but guess what?! Wednesday is coming and I will feel better! We are killing rouge cancer cells in the whole body and shrink that last tumor. No pain no gain!


What a coincidence that my nurse for my last AC cycle was Karen and I had her again today for my last Carbo cycle! I really like Karen – she is NOT like the “Karens” you see people talk about at all. In fact, she is soft spoken, a dog mama, sweet and kind, and above all has a passion for oncology infusion. Since I am not allowed a visitor with me, and I do not get out much, I chat up my nurses all day. They may like it; they may just act like it – I will never know. But with me being the youngster on the floor and I bring them chocolate every week, I think it is the former!

My mom made us dinner and its was delish! She just had surgery herself a week ago but was so sweet to think of us.


In honor of saying goodbye to Carboplatin we wrote a little song to the tune of Simon and Garfunkle’s song, The Sound of Silence.


Goodbye carbo my old friend

No more infusion, so I win

The tumor was excreting

Shed it seeds while I was sleeping

And the vision of the remission that's in my brain

Still remains

Inside the ocean… of my patience

In sleepless dreams I’m not alone

Shallow teats are quarrelsome

Grief over my boob implants

Concerned with my doc & totally scant

When advice was grabbed by the lash of a recent write

That lit the fight

And pulled a little more

From the ocean, of my patience

And in a fated fight I feel I saw

10,000 dr’s maybe more

Dr’s talking without speaking

Doctors hearing without listening

They’re giving options without all the choices shared

And it’s unfair

It dwindles down the profound of my patience

Goals ahead you do not know

Patience like a cancer grows

Hear these words so that I may teach you

Take my hands so that I may reach you

Keep my words like a valiant engrained thought that quells

Their denials they cannot sell

As you lose a most profound amount of patience

And all your breasties bow and prayed

To the God we know and we have faith

I’ve read the notes and all the warnings

Be sure I ask all the questions that are forming

All the things you signed, the words of the Dr’s are written and you can’t recall

worries for your future remains un-paused

Your heart is whispering, am I growing

the profound of my patience











27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page