top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Chemo Round 2

Updated: Apr 11, 2020

I just can’t believe 2 weeks came and went so fast. The last 14 days was jam packed. I was down for a few, up for a few, and had so many phone and virtual appointments in that window. It was a whirl wind.


I decided to eat a better meal before chemo, and drink lots while I was there. We also made a few medication changes to help with some side effects. The several hours I was there seem to really pass by quickly. I had a lot of work to do and stayed busy with a project, plus I had an beautiful influx of love and support! I had calls and FaceTime, videos and even a special dance from my husband outside my window! Even though the chair next to me was empty, I never felt alone! My tribe showed up again! I am so thankful for each and everyone of you!

I brought an Easter basket full of candy for the nurses. I call it nurse bait. They were very excited to see it!

When my fabulous nurse, Tiffany, came with the Adriamycin or red devil, she said I got the good stuff. Like I do, with my nervous energy, I sang that line from the Kenny Chesny song. I am ok with being different, walking to the beat of my own drum, whatever you want to call it. I’m not afraid of who I am or what God called me to be. I pray I can learn what my purpose is for His good while I‘m on my quest; and that I don’t focus my energy anywhere but on Him!


Thursday night was a little easier, than the last. I had a little nausea, but nothing too extreme. My aunt Ginger prepared us a nice Chicken and Rice Casserole, so dinner was easy! I laid down in bed and rested though the evening. Of course, my little girl didn’t leave my side.

Friday was great! I felt good. I got a ton of work accomplished, then took the kids for a snow cone. Kaiah has to give me my first home injection. She practiced at school in her vet science class giving a shot to a banana, plus she’s watched every season of Grey Anatomy, so basically she’s a pro. I made dinner and cleaned up from dinner. The girls and I got in my big bed with my big tv and watched some old school Disney. As I started to drift off to sleep, Kaiah said she was going to her bed and Kirklyn came to snuggle closer. These are the moments I will always cherish.


Here are the littles in there shirts from the amazing organization Compassion that Compels. Check them out!

Oh, I almost forgot, the good news!!!! While at chemo, the doctor came to visit. We are limiting exposure by doing virtual visits, but she stopped by to measure my tumor. I started around 4-4.5cm and she could hardly find it! She said she couldn’t even really measure, but guessed maybe 1cm. That’s 75% shrinkage at least! God is so good! Prayers are working!!! I cried like a baby, happy tears! All of this, everything I am going though is helping reduce the cancer and better my chances of survival. I am so thankful for the women that came before me, the science, the researchers, the medications, and my medical professional team. However, I am most thankful for my tribe! All of your support, in all the ways, I couldn’t do this without you. I love you all!





189 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page