top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Chemo Round 3

Today was round 3 of AC, which means I am 75% done with the first set of drugs. I am seeing some light at the end of this long tunnel. It was quiet at Levine's Cancer Institute this morning. It was dreary outside, too. It made for an emotional head game, type of day. I chatted with Fawn and my mom on FaceTime, while my friend Liz and I played words with friends. I texted with some other friends too, and that helped lift my spirits. As I was ending my treatment I had another surprise. My husband dancing outside my window. He knows just want I need, even when I don't. I was able to snap a selfie with him in it from my window, the nurses thought it was innovative. Check out the picture of my homemade mask made for me from my friend Kelly and the perfect distraction from life magazine my friend Laura ordered for me. Also, that picture of my doodle spooning me, priceless.



Per the usual, chemo day was rough. I was feeling yucky before I was even done with the infusion. We stopped at a drive thru before heading home and I nearly didn't make it. Thankfully, the window down and air blasting in my face helped. Now I know why my dog loves that so. I crawled into bed, took medication and tried to use my new mindfulness medication skills. My life coach has been helping me with relaxation techniques and they seem to be working. I still had 2 hours of work left, so I powered through, just in time to have some soup. My mom made me potato soup, which hit the spot. I laid with my girls for a few hours before drifting off to sleep for a few hours. Before I knew it, 4am came and I found myself wide awake. Insomnia is something I am working on with another doctor, too.



Side note: cancer fatigue is a real thing. It is where sleep or rest doesn't help make the fatigue better. I had that my second round. Tuesday, I had just started to feel better - like my normal self. I did all the things around the house. Cleaning, organizing, laundry, grocery order, cooking.....you name it. I like to feel like a normal mama and taking care of my house does that for me. Wednesday, I felt great too, but the day before chemo goes so quick. I have lots of virtual visits that day, plus standing work meetings and I like to be as present as possible with the kids. We went for walks both days and they really helped me get my mindset right.


I am looking forward to a follow-up with my surgeon next week. I am hoping for some good news. This will not be a long appointment, but hoping to get closer to a surgey date.


Will you join me in prayer this 14 days for more energy and a good report from my surgeon.


Thank you friends for your love and support. I am humbled by the outpouring of messages, generous gifts and donations and many prayers.


89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page