top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Chemo round 7

This round was just like the last. The Taxol only infusions are much easier on me than the AC or the carbo combos. The side effects are minimal and I am able to really function more like normal. I still tire out easily and I’m not at my optimal energy speed, but I still feel pretty “normal”. I am so thankful for that! Kaiah drove me to infusion this week, but first she made me a smoothie bowl! I like to eat big on chemo day. I like to have a full belly before I go!


We celebrated both of my daughters graduations and it was so nice to feel good while doing it! Kirklyn’s preschool did a parade, which was so cute and fun! We decorated the van and let her hang out the sunroof. Then Kaiah’s high school graduation was on the football field. The live stream had perfect angles and we could see and hear everything. It was actually so nice!




I had nurse Lisa this week. She had some trouble accessing my port. She had to nearly hang me by my toes to get the blood flowing. The port must have good blood return in order to proceed with infusion. Luckily, her tactics worked and she was able to draw the blood needed and get my port working properly.


The Taxol only rounds take about 4-5 hours. Once the blood is drawn, we have to wait for the labs to come back. We need to make sure my absolute Nuephocils are adequate for chemo. This can take about an hour. During that time, I just work and I’m usually hooked up to fluids. I like to get that whole liter every week. It helps keep me hydrated! When the labs come back and the doctor gives the ok, we continue with IV pre meds. First I get a steroid, then Pepcid, then Benadryl. These have to drip in order and each take between 10-30 minutes each. When the Benadryl is done, I start to prepare for the ice packs. As the nurse is setting up for the chemo drip, I start icing my hands and feet. The first few minutes are nearly so painful I can’t stand it. I try to take deep breaths and go mentally to a happy place. When the nurse has started the Taxol drip, I start a meditation or podcast. The benadryl starts to kick in shortly and I just close my eyes. This is the fastest hour. The IV machine beeps when It’s done, and that wakes me up!

My hands and feet are very stiff after the frozen blocks of ice are taken off. I have to be careful because I don’t have a lot of feeling in them at first, and I do not want to get hurt!


My sweet friend Hilary dropped off dinner again! Village Pizza, salad and cookies. I was finally up to being able to see her, after she's been by so many times! With being gone most of the day on infusion days and Jack having to shuffle the kids around all day, having dinner brought to us is so incredibly helpful. We are so thankful and blessed by our friends!

This coming week we have another celebration! Kaiah will be turning 18! I’m so thankful that I should be feeling good for that, too! Since her birthday is on Thursday, my chemotherapy has been moved to Friday again. The next round is the 2nd (of 4) combo and it will be a doozy. Let's soak up all of this week before I go back to having some down days next week.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page