top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

{Final} Chemo #16

The whole day seemed surreal. I cannot believe 20 weeks has come and gone. When I first started Chemo on March 26th, it seemed like it would never end. But, here I am….done! I was able to get in the infusion chair, in my usually suite, and get started quickly. I was walking on clouds it seemed. I was just trying to take it all in. I was trying to video lots of aspects of the infusion floor. I wanted to document, as much as I could, so that I could remember it all.


Ending chemo is bittersweet. The kill phase is over, so now we pray that it did its job. We pray specifically that the chemotherapy killed the tumors in my breast, but also the cancer cells that could be lingering in my body. Next week, I meet with a new Surgical Oncologist for her opinion on surgery. I also have follow up scans on my chest and a mammogram.


A day I will always remember. I was flying through my pre-meds. I was able to chat with my friend, Lisa, who was getting chemo too. That helps pass the time so much. Before I knew it, it was time for the last Taxol chemo drug. This is when I need to ice my hands and feet and get a nice hour nap. I was so excited about being down that I didn’t think I would be able to sleep. After a few minutes of music, I was dozing off. I woke up just before the end. It was like my body knew I needed to wake up and get ready – but I had no idea why!


Jack and Kirklyn had a special dance planned for the finale. They have danced through the weeks outside of my window since they are not allowed inside. This week was the rehearsed choregraphed dance. I hate that my video was so blurry at first, but it was such a treat. This was something I always looked forward to each week.


I rang the dang bell! That inanimate object was taunting me for 19 weeks. I walked by it each week, knowing and believing that my turn was coming. Well, that day was August 6th, 2020. I rand that bell and celebrated with my nurses. Those women were there for me each week, when Covid-19 shut down the visitors. I am so thankful for my team of nurses that cared for me and listened to me gab for hours each week.



When I walked out of chemo, there stood a whole crowd cheering for me! I was shocked. I did not know Jack was live streaming from Facebook either. I could not help but cry tears of joy. There was flowers and balloons galore! It meant so much to me for friends and family to show up! We talked for a little bit, then it started to rain. The kids played in the rain as we talked some more. It was such a blessing to see these beautiful faces take time out of their day, just to cheer me on! Thinking about it makes me tear up. When it was time to say goodbye, my friend Liz treated us to Starbucks. I love getting a treat when I leave chemo.


Little did I know when I arrived home Kaiah had another surprise for me. She planned a party for me! She had chick-fil-a catered, balloons, and streamers! It was a complete shock when I walked in the door and they all yelled surprise. I thought it was my birthday. We ate and talked the afternoon away. It was a day I will not forget.



My mom had a blanket made with t-shirts from family members. It is so comfy and soft! I love having a piece of each of them on it. Then on Sunday, my friends Michele and Karen stopped by. Karen is a survivor and gifted me special wedge pillows for surgery.




What an incredible celebration of the last 20 weeks.



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page