top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Genetics results

Today, I got the results from my genetics testing. They were testing for 84 hereditary genes that are known to cause cancer. These types of tests are scary, because sometimes ignorance is bliss. But, on the flip side, I would like to know what I’m up against (no surprises) and how to take preventative measures.



The test came back negative. This means I do not have any markers for the 84 genes know to cause hereditary cancers (I.e. BRCA). This is great news! This means my children do not need additional testing or my niece Colbie, and my surgery in the fall does not have to be as invasive. This is a huge sigh of relief. Although the doctor don't know why I got this type cancer, especially at a young age, we celebrate the wins when we can. This is a win in my book!


114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page