top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

New scar who dis

The power port placement procedure was completed this morning. I was not fully prepared for the surgery or pain. Because of the stupid virus, I had to go in alone. Jack must wait in the car for hours. When we arrived at the hospital, there was staff taking temperatures and screening for symptoms of Covid-19. I got a mask and was able to continue with my walk to outpatient surgery. I got all checked in and called back pretty fast.

The nurse giving me direction wasn't exactly warm fuzzy, but she handed me a blue gown and yellow socks. She told me I could have it open in the back though. So, there I was sitting naked, except for the yellow socks, waiting on my IV. Once my IV was in, I was greeted by the anesthesiologist. He showed me what my port would look like and how he would make sure I was drowsy, but conscious, then proceeded to explain what conscious meant. I wasn't sure how to take that elementary lesson. Anyway, before too much longer, I was introduced to Whitney. The friendliest nurse of them all. She took me for a ride to the Cath lab. She helped get me all ready for the procedure. There were a few other ladies prepping the room and supplies. Barbette was the tech in the room, and she had breast cancer last year. She was nice and got me a warm blanket. It’s funny those yellow socks sure did come in handy.

When everything was ready, the doctor came in. Whitney started to push the medication into my IV. She let me know I was going to get sleepy and its ok to rest. Well, I felt a little dizzy, but not sleepy. The doctor started with a shot to the neck. "Just a little pinch and burning" - yea, not exactly. It was a horrible pain that made it hard to swallow. Another shot, just below that first one. Man, I wasn't ready for that. Whitney saw my eyes and came over to myside. She grabbed my hand and let me squeeze it. I felt every single bit of that procedure.

The pushing and pulling to get that port in place was tiring. I tried to relax, I tried to deep breathe and all I could do was lock eyes with Whitney and she just rubbed my hand. I was doing what I like to do when I am nervous and started talking. The doctor said he didn't understand how I was awake and that I'd sleep in recovery.

That was the longest 20 minutes of my life. I honestly, don't know how long it actually was, but I was told that's the typically time. Whitney and Barbette helped me sit up and get back into my ride to recovery. I asked Whitney why I was in so much pain. I told her it hurt, and I was very uncomfortable. She tried to comfort me and let me know it won't last long. Once I was back in my recovery room, she got me some ginger ale and asked if I wanted lettuce and tomato on my turkey sandwich. I let her know I was gluten free vegan and she giggled. She said, well I have cheese'-its. I opted just for the soda and let her know how thankful I was for her.

After I was in recovery for a few minutes, I let the non-warm fuzzy nurse know that I was having a lot of pain. I asked for an ice pack. She sent the doctor instead. The doctor was quite cocky and showed an x-ray picture, on his old iPhone, of how perfectly placed my catheter was in my neck. I said 'wow, I'm super photogenic in that picture." I mean, why show a picture when I would have no idea what I am looking at? He said take Tylenol when I get home - not ibuprofen because of the covid-19 thing. I just politely said "thanks" and commenced to crying quietly by myself.

I had to wait a full hour in recovery, until they would let me get dressed and discharge. I worked from my phone answering emails and keeping my mind occupied, I got the go ahead to change and took off the hair net first. What in the heck is that.....My hair was tinged red and matted with dried blood. I got dressed as fast as I could, with my wobbly legs and painful new incisions. I called out to the nurse and said I need to wash out this blood, since it was very noticeable in my blonde hair. I rinsed it in the sink for a few minutes and got it as much as I could.

My wheelchair came quickly, and I was wheeled out the door. My night and shining armor was right there waiting on me. He opened the door for me, too. Who said chivalry is dead? Although I did not feel up to it, we were right next store to a wig shop Michele told me about over the weekend. We stopped by just to check out what they had in stock. I was in too much pain and the store had nothing in my shade of blonde. Basically, when you see my walking around bald, mind ya business.


Now, I am home curled up on the couch with my snoring pup in my lap. and working on the computer. Kaiah got me my favorite smoothie and has been making sure I am comfortable. Let's hope this pain subsides and I heal quickly!

196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page