top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Round 8 - Combo #2

This was a combo round where I get Carboplatin and Taxol. This started the 2nd of 4 total cycles. What that means, is that I only have 2 more bad treatments left. I keep trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel, and this mentality helps. I have 8 more weekly treatments left!


Kaiah turned 18 on Thursday, so my medical oncologist allowed me to move my treatment to Friday again. Friday was crazy on the infusion floor. Over 53 cancer patients getting drips. Since, I have been going for quite some time now, they all know me and know which chair I prefer. I like the chair that is in the corner suite. Lots of light and a big window where I can see the cancer killing dance.


Treatment took about 8 hours. It was a long day. I met with the surgical oncologist before I left, because I have been having so much pain in the tumor site. I try not to get my imagination rolling with all the reason why that might be, and instead relay on my doctor to tell me. I have an ultrasound scheduled for Monday June 22nd to give us some solid reasons why I might be having the pain. I am hoping that there is nothing to be seen on that screen. No cancer or tumor would be great. But time will tell.



Friday’s treatment was also the same day as Ron, my stepson, was graduating from high school. I felt terrible I could not watch or even take pictures, but at least Jack was able to meet him. That means, I was left home alone with all the kids, just after an 8-hour chemo infusion. Luckily, my aunt Ginger made us dinner, so that was one less thing to worry about. My dad dropped by to bring the dinner and he stayed for a little while. He does not know it, but I needed him there. It is hard having chemo all day then parenting two small kids. I tried to be as functional as possible, but him stopping by was a lifesaver. The kids love their Pal Pal. After my dad left, I got the kids their dinner and we sat at the table. I was able to keep them there occupied until Jack got home. It was late, after 9pm, pushing 10pm, and I could hardly keep my eyes open. Parenting is hard, fighting cancer is hard, chemo is hard – but friends, it is all worth it.


Over the weekend, I tried to walk as much as possible. We went to the Riverwalk and walked the neighborhood. I worked up a sweat a few times. I also upped my hydration levels. I tried to drink as much as I could. I think I naturally got about 80 ounces in, before I started really chugging. That was impressive. My sweet friend Rachel bought us the best taco kit from Costco. It was so good and so easy to heat and serve!




Monday came around and that meant back to work. Being a day behind my typical treatment schedule, I was worried that my side effects might affect my work. Monday and Tuesday were not as bad, as I had thought they might be. I just had the typical fatigue. I powered through it by working and resting as needed. I tried to pick up around the house some too. That always makes me feel like I am accomplishing something.


We've had such a busy few weeks with not just chemo, but also our kids. Graduations, birthday, losing teeth, and even braces. Keegan got his braces on this week and looks like he's grown now. I mean, can't they stay little forever?

Wednesday’s are busy at work and I don’t have time to be down. But let’s be honest, our bodies don’t care what day it is and just how much work you have to do. Although, I had hoped I would be feeling more energized today, I am not. The show must go on which means I am working from bed today. I have a great set up that allows me to work efficiently and smoothly from the comfort of my bed. I have a wedge pillow that my aunt Ginger got me and a lap desk that my mom got me. Those help so much on days like today. I have a nightstand full of hydration choices, snacks, and medicines. My sweet adult child got me some chick fil a breakfast, as a surprise, so that helped me power through the morning.


Then my sweet sissy came to visit with me. She brought me lunch and a milkshake! Fawn sat with me all

afternoon, as I worked, she just laid next to me. It was nice to have her company!

Can’t believe it’s already been a week, and tomorrow is back to chemo. Let’s do this!


The kids love doing the cancer killing dance out my window!


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page