top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Scan day aka testing day

Friday, March 6, 2020

I only had to wait three days for testing day. I was so thankful I didn’t have to wait long. Again, always trying to find the silver lining. These tests would show whether the cancer had spread. This was a huge step in my quest. Like most tests’ days, back when I was in school, I couldn’t sleep.


Let me tell you about Bill. I’ve met some incredible people in the short three weeks of my diagnosis. But, no one quite compares to Bill. He is a tall, older guy with a warm smile. He has the gentlest soul. He explained what was about to transpire before starting my IV. We just connected. Have you ever met someone and it’s like you’ve known each other forever? That’s I we felt about Bill. Jack and I just chatted with him about life and its storms. Bill said, “life is like a poker game, you get dealt a crummy hand sometimes”. What Bill didn’t know, was I loved poker....and I’m pretty good at it. (what’s this game called? Rifka wins! - if you've played a game with me and I’ve won, you’ve heard this before....and I'm very competitive.)


Bill and I bonded over IV’s, radioactive shots, and his special cocktail of ginger ale cranberry contrast. How’d he know those were my favorite two drinks to mix?

First up was the CT scan. They take a few pictures before they connect you to the IV dye, then a few more. Oh and FYI, that dye makes you feel a little warm all over and gives you the sensation you've peed your pants.


Next was the bone scan, but I had time to kill so I worked on the laptop and kept my mind occupied. Before I knew it, time was up, and I got to catch back up with my friend Bill. He helped me into the machine and starting the test. Well, in case you didn’t know, I’m claustrophobic. I don’t like small spaces at all. I was in there maybe five minutes when my heart starting to race, my face started to burn, and I felt like I could breathe. Jack tried talking to me, playing music and it wasn’t working. I needed out and a little air. Bill was so sweet. He said he‘d get me some medicine to help and we would try later in the afternoon. I promised I could do it, just let me try one more time, and he said this test was too important for me, as a baseline, and he insisted on seeing me back later.



During the second try, Jack read the book, The Dream Giver, aloud while I lay still counting down the time. Bill was right, it was too important to get quality results. Swallow your pride, Rifka, and accept the help Bill was giving you.


Thank you, Bill, for being a light to everyone you meet, for showering God’s love and using your position as a platform. It was a blessing to meet Bill.


On the way home, I got a call from a number I didn’t recognize again. Of course, I wanted to answer it thinking it had to be something about this quest I’m on. I quickly picked up the phone and heard the sweetest voice on the other end. It was a doctor. The OBGYN, Dr. Moynihan called me personally. She had felt the lump and sent me on to diagnostics, but I never thought I’d hear from her. She called, mainly to let me know she was praying for me and wishing me well for the road ahead. I let her know, I’d just finished my scans and that was the next hurdle. She said she knew and that she’s looking at the results. They are all clear! I fought back those tears and cleared my voice to thank her from the bottom of my heart for her call. It really meant so much to me for my doctor to call. She said she didn’t want to make me wait the weekend to hear the results, and man, was she accurate. Can I just say, I have the most incredible team of medical professionals!!


By the time I was hanging up the phone, we were pulling into the house and I just sobbed. However, this time it wasn’t coming from a place of sadness. I hugged my husband; he wiped his eyes and I ran into the house to tell my mama.


Now that is the way to start the weekend!


116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page