top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

So there I was in the shower

Monday, February 17, 2020

It was a typical morning. I woke up, got the kids' lunches packed, saw the two older ones off to school, then it was time to hop in the shower. So there I was in the shower, washing like typical, and noticed my left breast felt sore. Like I had a bruise. It was a Monday morning, so I thought back to the weekend, asking myself if my baby boy head butted me in the chest or if I caught a thrown toy that could have created the sensitivity. Then I noticed there was actually a knot. My heart began pounding, as if I had already known exactly what it was. I couldn't breathe. So there I was in the shower, hyperventilating paralyzed with fear. I wanted to yell for Jack to come, but I couldn't catch my breath. As I tried to compose myself, I quickly got out and asked Jack if he could feel what I did. Without hesitation, he said "call the doctor".


First, I called my OBGYN. I figured they knew breasts best and that's where I should go. They couldn't get me in until the next day and I couldn't wait 24 hours to get some expert advice. For the last 21 or 22 years, my primary care doctor has always been reliable. He can get me in same day, almost with out fail. I made the call and within a few hours, I was sitting in a cold room topless. I wasn't sure what was about to happen, but I definitely didn't expect this quest.


Step 1 - Go to the doctor

First, I called my OBGYN. I figured they knew breasts best and that's where I should go. They couldn't get me in until the next day and I couldn't wait 24 hours to get some expert advice. For the last 21 or 22 years, my primary care doctor has always been reliable. They can get me in same day almost with out fail. I made the call and within a few hours, I was sitting in the cold room. So there I was topless and unsure what was about to happen. But promise you, I definitely didn't expect this quest. As you can guess, she felt the lump and recommended a diagnostic mammogram. She didn't say much other than "we need to check it out".


Tuesday, February 18, 2020

The next day I went to the OBGYN. The same place I have gone for 18 plus years. Lots of happy memories within those walls. I've experienced all of my pregnancies there. Somehow, it is felt like a safe place. They always ensured my babies were healthy and thriving in my womb. Who else would I trust with such an alarming symptom. So there I was topless, again, waiting on the sweetest doctor to come in the room and tell me that everything was going to be alright. As you can guess, she also felt the lump. She said "maybe its just a fluid filled cyst, those happen sometimes, but let's check it out". I felt slightly better; I didn't know there could be benign lumps in the breasts. This sounded like a job for Google.






264 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page