top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Support and How to Help

Support: It is so important to have people who are fighting in your corner with you, though whatever trial you are experiencing. Support looks different for each of my friends and family members. Some are near and some are far. But they show up and show out all the time! Fighting cancer during the covid-19 pandemic has made it that much more difficult for my tribe to help physically or even visit.

It does not stop so many of you from supporting me and showing up when I need you. Whatever that may look like. Here are some ways I have been supported by my tribe:

· Financial contributions

· Care packages

· Amazon wish list gifts

· Magazine subscriptions to keep me busy during chemo

· Letters and cards in the mail

· Gifts for the kids to keep them busy

· Dinners-homemade or delivered

· Favorite Italian ice drop offs

· Gift cards for food delivery

· Caring for the little kids during my countless appointments

· Taking the day off work to watch your Ex-wife’s kids during her biopsy

· Emergency facetime to help shave my head evenly

· Shaving your head in my honor

· The emergency egg delivery -Hilary saved Easter

· The perfectly timed texts during those scary doctor’s appointments – timing is everything

· The words with friends game to keep my mind occupied

· Late night chats, insomnia is real, and my sister Mary is a night owl.

· Wearing pink on Thursdays

· Checking in texts and messages on social media

· Designing an amazing shirt and handled all the behind the scenes work

· Sporting tribe shirts and stickers

· Video messages during chemo

· Connecting me with fellow survivors

· FaceTime calls

· Finding my favorite Gatorade flavor

· Mailing awesome headwraps

· Dancing out my infusion window

· Fundraising for a cause in my honor with my name on your shirt

· Placing ribbon stickers Kaiah made on your items in my honor

· Grocery delivery

· Phone calls for all the things

· RTIC cooler for my ice packs during chemo

· Encouragement on down days

· Sharing my posts on social media

· ALL the prayers!

I am so thankful for each of you. This is not a complete list, but several ways that have made an impact on my quest. My heart is overflowing with love and gratitude. It’s these selfless acts that I witness everyday with my #rifkasfighttribe and it brings tears to my eyes and joy to my heart.

 

Besides “How are you” my most frequently asked question is “How can I help” - the simple fact that you are reaching out, helps me feel not forgotten, loved, and supported. Seriously, please keep the texts, Facebook and Instagram messages, FaceTimes and contact in anyway coming! It encourages me and lifts me up, sometimes it is at the most perfect time too.

Ways you can help:

· Keep praying for complete and total healing

· Keep reaching out in any way

· Wear pink on Thursdays and let me know

· Take the 2 little kids to run some energy

· Come walk around the block with me

· Send inspirational quotes or scriptures that move you

· Podcast suggests

· Itunes gift cards- because music is life

· Religious and inspiring books to read

· Bring or have a meal delivered: https://www.mealtrain.com/trains/2yv53m

Any day not just those listed – seriously I always need help. Not a cook? No problem premade dinners from the grocery stores are perfect! Live out of town? No problem send a gift card or have a local place deliver!

· Gift cards to my favorite restaurants: Starbucks, tropical smoothie, Panera, Pizza places, Chick Fil A, Jersey Mikes, Jimmy Johns, Dunkin Donuts -honestly I love all places

· Gift Cards to places I frequently shop: Target, Amazon, Walmart, Publix

· Want to send a little gift or surprise to brighten my day, I have ideas in my Amazon Wish list: https://www.amazon.com/hz/wishlist/ls/2QKAFMUU0818V?ref_=wl_share

· I could totally use a shipt membership. We only do curbside, pickup or delivery. When I am down and cannot drive or do not have someone to pick up for me, it would be amazing to have this service!

· Cleaning service – This would be amazing. I am still responsible for keeping the house clean and could use the help.

Thank you just never seems adequate for all the support I have been blessed with. I sincerely love each of you. Every single one of you. From the bottom of my heart, thank you for all you do for me every day. May God bless me with time to pay it forward when I am in remission.


109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page