top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRifka Coleman

Wig shopping, hair cut and breaking the news to my little girl

So much goes into starting active cancer treatment, lots of doctors, lots of tests, lots of appointments. But also the house organization, the supplies, and the mental prep. Maybe labeling all of the things weren't necessary, but for me it was.



Today I got to pick out a free wig, courtesy of the Women in Pink. This is an organization started by a Kim Beverly, a two time breast cancer survivor. She shared a little bit of her experience with me. She was also 37 when she got her first diagnosis and had young kids at home. She helped me pick out a beautiful wig, helped style it and then prayed with me. She spoke the most beautiful words over me. It was incredibly touching. Once we were done, it was time for the chop.



In Gastonia, NC, there is a cute salon called "It's A Girl Thing" and that is where the Women in Pink boutique is stationed. Tiffany is the salon owner and she had the hard job of cutting this long and thick hair. She pulled it back into a pony tail and started going to town. The pony tail was about 10 inches long and the hair was still past my shoulders. She cut it in a blunt shoulder length bob, which is actual quite nice. I thought it would be more emotional, but it wasn't. I think I was ready to just to let it go.



When I got back home, with my short hair, my little 5 year old girl, Kirklyn, broke down and cried. She did not like my haircut. She said she wanted me to have long hair like her. Jack and I looked at each other and decided it was time we broke the news to her. We hadn't told her up to this point, because we were trying to protect her as long as possible. We sat her down and her daddy explained the situation. Jack said "Mommy has a little bit of cancer and the medicine she must take to get better will make her hair fall out." Kirklyn just held on so tight to me and cried her eyes out. She cried for quite some time and would not let go of me. I instantly wanted to cry with her, but I held it together for her. I wanted her to see how strong I am and didn't want her to see me upset either. Do you know what it feels like to hold back tears....you get this burning sensation in your throat. I get that feeling a lot lately.


Read more about Kim Beverly and the Women in Pink Here: http://www.thewomaninpink.com/kim_story.php




102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page